Purely Gambian Entertainment and Awards Night nominations announced: See the full list

Written by Saja


It’s official! It’s happening on the 28th March, 2015 at the Penchami Hall.

The nominees for the 1st Purely Gambian Entertainment and Awards Night were announced last week by chief organizer, Ida Bidwell of Biddy’s.

Egalitarian, ST, Royal Messenger, Killa ace, Gee and Jali Madiwere nominated for ‘Best Artist of the Year’ and Diihaa, Cess Ngum, Amie Dibba, Nancy Nanz and Jali Neneh Suso and Sona Jobartehfor ‘Best Female Artist’.

The list includes few surprises. Rugie was not on the list because she is no longer active in the music scene.

After the announcement was made, Ida Bidwell told What’s On-Gambia that the awards are aimed at celebrating successful young Gambians in the entertainment industry.

See the full list of nominees below.

ARTIST OF THE YEAR 2014: Egalitarian, ST, Royal Messenger, Killa Ace, Gee and Jali Madi

BEST FEMALE ARTSIST: Diihaa, Cess Ngum, Amie Dibba, Nancy Nanz, Jali Neneh Suso and Sona Jobarteh

BEST MALE ARTIST: ST, T Smallz,  Silky Criss, Benjahmin, Bai Babu, MLC, Manding Morry, Killa Ace, ENC, Mighty Joe, Jali Madi Nova and MLK

BEST MUSIC VIDEO: Red Card by Silky Criss, Bul D Joy by Mighy Joe, Swag by Vypa, You Are My Life by Abou ak Fafa, Firr by Nova, Jarabi by Jali Madi, Al Bulo by T Smallz, Without You By Singateh, Soon or Later by Benjahmin, Pon Mi by Deejay Limbo, Nna Kamma by Manding Morry and Deep Depth by Retsam

BEST MALE UPCOMING ARTIST: Nyancho, Jizzle, Karafa, Artenola, A2, Lixen and Maha

BEST FEMALE UPCOMING ARTIST: Lady Quincy, Supreme Ladies, Awa Bling, Aminata Baldeh and Sofia

BEST GAM MUSIC RADIO SHOW: Wah sa halat, Gambian Zone, Sunu Musico, Gam Vibes and Gam Flavor

BEST BAND: Humanity Stars, Holy Family,  Kebba Taylor and Friends, Richard and Friends, Police Band and Army Band

BEST SONG OF THE YEAR: Aling Domo by ST,  Big Headed by Gee, Soon or Later by Benjahmin, Domanding dorong by Manding Morry, Dama Yii by Bai Babu, Fen Rek by T Smallz and Cha la la la by Kerr G Family

BEST MUSIC GROUP: Kerr Gi Family, Poetic X, Abou ak Fafa, Humanity Stars, MJ & J Mbaye, New Era, Slam G and  Grandiz Kroo

BEST DANCEHALL REGEA DANCEHALL ARTIST: Royal Messenger, ENC, Silky Criss, Singateh, Papa Lengthy, Deejay Limbo, Magnificent Joe and  Benjahmin

BEST HIP HOP ARTIST: Killa Ace, T Smallz, OG Log, Vypa,  Big Faa, ST, Gee, Sir X Ooz, Omid Wisdom and  Poetic X

BEST AFRO MANDING ARTIST: Manding Morry, ST, Jalex, Jali Madi, Baddibunka, Bala Ranks and King Kora

BEST MUSIC PRODUCER: State of Mic, J Live Music,  Ghetto Boy Music,  Shy Boy, The Block and Alliance Franco

BEST RAP MBALAX ARTIST: Slam G, Gee, Bai Babu,  Mighty Joe, Tam 50  and MJ & J Mbaye

BEST MBALAX ARTIST: MC Mbaye,  Yusupha Ngum, Tapha Artist,  Abou ak Fafa  and Modou Kara Gaye

BEST TRADITIONAL ARTIST: Jali Neneh Suso, Yusupha Ngum, Jali Nyahaling Kanuteh, Fayer Ngum, Jali Madi, Tata Dinding,  King Kora and Pa Bobo